Categories: world

NASA just published a detailed timeline for the Monday landing of Mars InSight

On Monday, November 26th, NASA's newest piece of high-tech space hardware will finally find its way to the surface of…

On Monday, November 26th, NASA’s newest piece of high-tech space hardware will finally find its way to the surface of Mars. It’s the InSight landing, and it’s going to listen closely to the heartbeat of the planet and hopefully reveal a whole bunch of awesome secrets about Mars, but before it does that, it needs to actually, well, land.

<p class = “canvas-atom canvas text Mb (1

.0em) Mb (0) – sm Mt (0.8em) – sm” type = “text” content = ” NASA will be live streaming a feed NASA har nettopp publisert en tidslinje, eller når det forventer at nå bestemte punkter i landingsprosessen, kan du sende kommentarer og oppdateringer om statusen til oppdraget i sanntid. Hvis du bare kan ikke vente på den store dagen, right down to the minute, and it’s quite interesting. ” data-reaction = “19”> NASA will be live streaming a feed from mission control, offering comments and updates on the status of the mission in real time. Ef þú getur bara ekki haldið því fram að dagurinn sé kominn, NASA birtir bara tímasetningu eða hvenær það væntir að ná ákveðnum stigum í landing, rétt niður í mínútu, og það er alveg áhugavert.

<p class = “canvas-atom canvas text Mb (1.0em) Mb (0) – sm Mt (0.8em) – sm” type = “text” content = ” Do not Miss : This might be the best Black Friday deal of all time on an Apple product “data-reactid =” 22 “> Do not Miss : This may be the best Black Friday deal of all time on an Apple product

It all starts at 2:40 pm EST, with the separation of the lander from the rocket stage that pushed it all the way to Mars, and that’s when the real fun begins. Here’s a full breakdown, via NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory:

  • 11:40 a.m. PST (2:40 p.m. EST) – Separation from the cruise stage that carried the mission to Mars
  • 11:41 a.m. PST (2:41 p.m. EST) – Turn to orient the spacecraft properly for atmospheric entry
  • 11:47 a.m. PST (2:47 p.m. EST) – Atmospheric entry at about 12,300 mph (19,800 kph), starting the entry, descent and landing phase
  • 11:49 a.m. PST (2:49 pm EST) – Peak heating of the protective heat shield reaches about 2,700 ° F (about 1,500 ° C)
  • 15 seconds later – Peak deceleration, with the intense heating causing possible temporary dropouts in radio signals [19659012] 11:51 am PST (2:51 p.m. EST) – Parachute deployment
  • 15 seconds later – Separation from the heat shield
  • 10 seconds later – Deployment of the lander’s three legs
  • 11:52 a.m. PST (2:52 p.m. EST) – Activation of the radar that will sense the distance to the ground
  • 11:53 a.m. PST (2:53 pm EST) – First acquisition of the radar signal
  • 20 seconds later – Separation from the back shell and parachute
  • 0.5 second later – The retrorockets, or descent engines, start firing
  • 2.5 seconds later – Start of the “gravity turn” to get the landing into the proper orientation for landing
  • 22 seconds later – InSight begins slowing to a constant velocity (from 17 mph to a constant 5 mph, or from 27 kph to 8 kph ) for its soft landing
  • 11:54 am PST (2:54 p.m. EST) – Expected touchdown on the surface of Mars
  • 12:01 p.m. PST (3:01 p.m. EST) – “Beep” from InSight’s X band radio directly back to Earth, indicating InSight is alive and functioning on the surface of Mars
  • No earlier than 12:04 p.m. PST (3:04 p.m. EST), but possibly the next day – First image from InSight on the surface of Mars
  • No earlier than 5:35 p.m. PST (8:35 pm EST) – Confirmation from InSight via NASA’s Mars Odyssey orbiter that InSight’s solar arrays have deployed

As you can see from the schedule, the entire landing process is going to take several hours to complete, and there are lots of places where something could go awry. NASA has a remarkable track record of successful Mars landings so we’re not anticipating any mishaps, but JPL’s mission control will be at the edge of its seat the whole time.

<p class = “canvas-atom canvas text Mb (1.0em) Mb (0) – sm Mt (0.8em) – sm “type =” text “content =” BGR Top Deals: “data-reactid =” 44 “> BGR Top Deals:

  1. The Sony Noise Canceling Headphones People Like More than Bose Just Got Deep Black Friday Discounts
  2. This might be the best Black Friday deal of all time on an Apple product

<p class = “canvas -atom canvas text Mb (1.0em) Mb (0) – sm Mt (0.8em) – sm “type =” text “content =” Trending Right Now: “data-reactid =” 48 “> Trending Right Now:

  1. Apple is no longer the world’s largest company by market cap
  2. Firmaet med de hotteste Android-telefoner, du ikke kan købe, hjælper Google ‘kill’ Android [19659031] Samsung just debuted a stunning white Galaxy Note 9, but you can not have ve it

<p class = “canvas-atom canvas text Mb (1.0em) Mb (0) – sm Mt (0.8em) – sm” type = “text” content = ” See the Original version of this article on BGR.com “data-reactid =” 53 “> See the original version of this article on BGR.com

Share
Published by
Faela