Categories: Gadgets

How to delete your YouTube video watch history

How to delete your YouTube video watch history

You may not know it, but YouTube saves a history with each and every one of the videos you’ve played from the first time you signed in to your account. Yes, that means that video that you saw one day by mistake , and that since then you try to forget, is still associated with you in some way, through the history that the video streaming platform par excellence incorporates.

Nevertheless, delete YouTube history , and even getting the platform to stop recording the videos you see and the searches you do, is easier than you think. Just a few weeks ago, on the occasion of the entry into force of the, Googleto delete the user history of all your services. Today, instead, we focus on YouTube and all the ways in which the application stores data about us, and how to eliminate them forever.

How to remove videos from your YouTube history

How to delete your YouTube video watch history

How to delete your YouTube video watch history

There are two different ways to remove videos from your YouTube history. The first one allows you delete individual videos, while the second one is designed to completely eliminate the history of visualizations . Keep in mind that, if you proceed to erase the complete history, you will no longer be able to easily access videos that you have seen before, and you will have to search them again among the millions of videos that exist on the platform. In addition, video recommendations will be reinitiated until YouTube relearns your tastes. Be that as it may, these are the steps to follow in both cases:

  • To remove specific videos from your history
    • From the YouTube app, access the Library tab from the bottom toolbar.
    • Enter the option Record.
    • All the videos you have seen will appear. Click on the 3-point menu that you want to delete.
    • Choose the option Remove from history .
  • To erase all the history of videos played
    • From the YouTube app, access the settings of your account through your profile picture .
    • Press on Adjustments .
    • Enter the option History and privacy .
    • Press on Clear browsing data . A warning will appear that you must confirm.

Prevent YouTube from saving a history of the videos you see

How to delete your YouTube video watch history

How to delete your YouTube video watch history

Now that you’ve removed the history of all the videos you’ve seen since you made a YouTube account, you may want to prevent the platform from re-storing this kind of information about you in the future. Doing it is very simple, you will only have to access the YouTube settings again, and mark the two options in the image above: pause the watch history, and pause the search history if you want to go further.

!