Categories: world

Here's what Mars looks like now for a little cube that chases NASA's InSight Lander

NASA's small MarCO-B cube took this photo of Mars from a distance of 310,000 miles on November 24, 201 8…

NASA’s small MarCO-B cube took this photo of Mars from a distance of 310,000 miles on November 24, 201

8 before November 26 of the InSight spacecraft. This annotated view shows the spaceship sections visible.

Credit: NASA / JPL-Caltech

PASADENA, California – A little cube crossing through interplanetary space has caught a new glimpse of Mars just before looking at NASA’s InSight landing touch down on the red planet. , one of two Mars Cube One probes (called MarCO for short) snapped the Mars photo on Saturday (November 24). It’s two days before the InSight probe depends on land on Elysium Planitias Monday (November 26) to study Mars decor.

“We take more pictures,” Maroco-A Mission Cody Colley told reporters at a press conference on Sunday (November 26). “The MarCOs uses a very off-the-shelf camera, and we learn as we go when we take these pictures.” [NASA’s InSight Mars Lander: Full Coverage]

This photo was taken by MarCO-B-cubesat, showing Mars from a distance of approximately 310,000 miles (500,000 kilometers), according to a NASA image description.

Twin MarCo cubes are demonstration vessels built to test the potential of small satellites for interplanetary missions. They launched with InSight Mars Lander in May and are the first cube rates ever to fly an interplanetary mission.

Researchers hope that MarCO cube rate can act as a communication relay during InSight landing on Mars, radiant telemetry from landlords back to earth. Each MarCO probe is about the size of a portfolio and is equipped with a setup system that uses compressed gas R236FA, which is usually used in fire extinguishers. It caused NASA researchers to nick them “Wall-E” and “Eve” after the two robots using a fire extinguisher to fly into space in Disney’s animated movie “Wall-E”.

A clear view of Mars (lower left), seen by NASA’s little MarCO-B cube on November 24, 2018. At that time, the spacecraft was about 310,000 miles from Mars.

Credit: NASA / JPL-Caltech

Unlike InSight, MarCO probes will not stop at Mars. They will fly through the red planet and continue in space between planets, NASA officials have said.

Visit Space.com on Monday, November 26 for full coverage of Mars’s InSight landing, including a live webcast at 2 pm EST (1900 GMT). Landing is scheduled for about 3 p.m. EST (2000 GMT).


Source link

Share
Published by
Faela