Categories: world

Florida strictly on cannabis punishment California, not as much – News – The Ledger

Florida laws are strict and possession and distribution of cannabis by a minor within 1000 meters of a school is…

Florida laws are strict and possession and distribution of cannabis by a minor within 1000 meters of a school is considered a crime. An example of a state that does not take children heavily for distribution is California.

LAKELAND – If a child would distribute THC-infused gummy candy in a state where cannabis possession was legal, would they be beaten with felony fees?

THC is known as the primary psychoactive chemical compound in cannabis.

Florida laws are strict and possession and distribution of cannabis by a minor within 1000 meters of a school is considered a crime.

An example of a state that does not take children heavily for distribution is California.

A new event at Mulberry Middle School where a 1

2-year-old student faces seven felony fees and a misdemeanor after sharing a 100-milligram block of THC infused gummy candies known as the brand Green Hornets with other college students at high school attracted much attention.

Six students were taken to the hospital after showing signs of dizziness and nausea after

But if the same event had occurred in California, the 12-year-old would face the same punishment?

In January, California approved the recreational use of marijuana. What it meant is anyone 21 years old and older can have up to 1 ounces of dried marijuana or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis, also called cannabis, legally.

This was a move approved by California voters.

There are some provisions according to California Health and Safety Code 11357 HS, which states that holdings of more than 28.5 grams of marijuana or more than 8 grams of concentrated cannabis are illegal.

The law states that anyone under 21 years old can not own cannabis unless they have a medical marijuana card saying that it was prescribed for them.

In addition, California has the law to have marijuana on school property in any school that passes through the 12th grade while the school is in session.

Yet California’s punishment for disobedience in the cannabis possession law is mild compared to those in Florida.

In California, they are 18 years old and elderly who own marijuana or concentrated cannibis on school grounds will only be subject to a misdemeanor charge and a fine of up to $ 250 fine for the first crime.

In the case of persons under the age of 18, the document is considered only as a violation of drug counseling and community service.

California’s Health and Safety Code 11360 states that there is a misunderstanding “selling or transporting for sale, concentrated cannabis without a valid marijuana sales license.”

California Health and Safety Code 11362.765a states that marijuana collective or dispensaries can give concentrated cannabis to each other, as long as they do not make any profit from a sale.

At federal level, regardless of what states decide at this point, according to the National Conference of the State Consultant’s Marijuana Overview, “under federal law, marijuana is still a scheme 1 illegal subject.”

As said, NCSL approved a policy saying that They believe that federal laws, including the Controlled Substances Act (CSA), should be amended to explicitly authorize states to set their own cannabis policy without federal involvement and urges the administration not to undermine state cannabis policy. “

The NCSL review found that 10 States – Colorado, Washington, Alaska, Oregon, California, Maine, Massachusetts, Nevada, Michigan and Vermont – and the District of Columbia have now legalized small amounts of marijuana for adult recreational use.

According to research accumulated by NCSL, 22 states have also decriminalized small amounts of marijuana.

“Decriminalized,” said NCSL in its review means that personal consumption is more civil or local violation, “not a state crime”.

Deputy Florida State Attorney John Orr said that the state’s law firm’s job is to maintain the law currently in the lead.

When it comes to predicting whether Florida will ever change its tough attitude to the law, Orr notes that SAO will not comment on it because they effect what the state of Florida decides.

However, local defense attorney John Liguori said that in recent years the cannabis concentrate in Florida has come in several different forms, from oils to dare to stir for candy.

“I’ve seen it on chewing gum and have represented people who had it in oilseeds, like a Chiclet-type chewing gum that you should chew and use,” he said.

Liguori said that the Florida State Legislature has a rule that a person is guilty of a crime against possession of cannabis concentrates and is convicted, they may also lose the driving license for up to one year.

In the case of a 12-year-old, it may mean that the child could not get their driving license directly. [19659003] The major issue he feels that everyone, including the Sheriff’s office should ask, is “how a 12-year-old gets concentrated cannabis.”

“They must quickly calculate the source,” said the lawyer.

“It’s the blind side of criminal law … waving with marijuana is more serious than smoking a joke,” he said.

Concentrated cannabis, he said, “is the new vogue drug.”

In the case of Florida laws, there is no difference in the age of the person in possession or dividend. “The level of crime is the same if you are an adult or a child,” he said.

He also said that he has difficulty believing that the child acquired cannabis on his own.

“He got these things from someone, it was not his idea,” said Liguori to The Ledger on Friday.

“There are services available to these young criminals,” he said.

“When working with a 12 year old, everyone must go back. “

Kathy Leigh Berkowitz can now at 863-802-7558 or [email protected]

Share
Published by
Faela