Categories: world

App Developers kan stalke dig rundt om i nettet hvis du fjerner deres app

This site may earn affiliate commissions from the links on this page. Terms of use. We've all gotten used to…

This site may earn affiliate commissions from the links on this page. Terms of use.

We’ve all gotten used to the fact that installing an app on a smartphone means the developers will get at least some information about us. Både Android og iOS inkluderer kontroller til blokkering av apptillatelser, og du kan alltid fjerne en app hvis du tror det er for nesende. As it turns out, uninstalling an app might just make a developer more interested in what you are doing. A new report explores how developers track the users who uninstall their apps – you might prefer to call it “stalking.”

These so-called “uninstall tracking tools” are offered by companies like MoEngage, Localytics, and CleverTap. Big companies like T-Mobile and Spotify use these services to figure out when people uninstall their apps, but they’re not alone. Plenty of smaller developers are also following uninstallations, because it is a clear signal that someone could be a good target for advertising.

Think back, and you might recall being the target of uninstall tracking. Ef þú hefur einhvern tíma séð myndskeiði eða auglýsingar fyrir að tiltekna forrit eða þjónustu eftir að fjarlægja forritið úr tækinu þínu, þá mun þessi forritari nota uninstalling til að reyna að vinna þig aftur. This technique uses a perfectly legitimate feature of mobile operating systems: push notifications. Ja, den samme funktionen som bringer dig nye Tweets og emails kan også hjælpe udviklere stalk dig.

Both iOS and Android allow developers to reach out to your phone when they have their app installed. If the app is present, the phone answers and receives data. Men, telefonen er stille hvis appen ikke længere er installert. Uninstall tracking notes this as a newly lost user, giving the developer a chance to pitch woo at you. This is where things get stalker-ish.

Every mobile device has a unique advertising ID, which companies use to target ads unless you disable this feature in your account settings. Uninstall tracking bruker dette ID-en til å følge deg rundt på nettet, og du kommer med annonser, og du må installere appen på nytt. Companies could use uninstall tracking to find out why people uninstall apps and make improvements, but more often than not, they appear to just go after users with ads.

This behavior is technically against the rules imposed by both Apple and Google. Utviklere har ikke lov til å bruke push notifications til å sende annonser eller generere en reklamedatabase, men det er uklart om Google eller Apple kunne feasibly til at håndhæve det. For the time being, you should opt out of personalization features in your Google or Apple iAds account if this bothers you.

Now read: No, Google Did not Just Sneak DRM Into All Android Apps, Apple App Store Antitrust Case Is Headed to the Supreme Court, and Google’s Voice Access App Lets You Control Your Phone Entirely Hands-Free

Share
Published by
Faela